Time After Time – Luis Cuauhtémoc Berriozábal

There are people with six eyes.
They can save energy
and look toward the future.
They have that extra fire.
They have an on and off switch.
They never look back.

They take a deep breath time
after time and forge ahead.
They won’t cry you a river.
They are fierce and persistent.
Some people can take a blow
and hit you back twice as hard.

Some people have three hearts.
They are voracious and vigilant
from daylight to dawn. They
cannot be stopped. Time after
time they demonstrate how
powerful their hearts could be.



Luis Cuauhtémoc Berriozábal, born in Mexico, lives in California and works in the mental health field in Los Angeles. His first book of poems, Raw Materials, was published by Pygmy Forest Press. His poetry has been published by Alternating Current Press, Deadbeat Press, New Polish Beat, Poet’s Democracy, and Ten Pages Press. His latest chapbook, Make the Light Mine, was published by Kendra Steiner Editions.


Image via Pixabay


cabinet of heed contents issue 16

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: